🇲🇹 Malta — Work & Study Visas, Wages & Jobs
Last verified 2026-09-26 · 6/7 visa categories confirmed from official sources
Work Visas
EU Blue CardUnconfirmed figure — verify before relying on it
Available for highly-qualified employment; notably Malta applies a Labour Market Test (employers must first seek Maltese/EU candidates), unlike some other states such as Portugal and Spain. Malta issued 218 Blue Cards in 2024.
Threshold/salary: €34,956/year (2024 figure, 1.5x average gross annual salary — needs 2026 re-verification)
Duration: 2 years (or contract length + 3 months if remaining term is under 1 year at renewal)
National work visa/permit
The 'Single Permit' combines work authorisation and residence rights for non-EU employment over 6 months, tied to a specific employer/role; a job change requires a new application, and unemployment must be reported to Jobsplus.
Duration: Typically up to 1 year, renewable
Job Seeker Visa
No dedicated standalone job-seeker visa identified. The closest mechanism is the post-study 9-month job-search/business-setup residence permit for graduates.
Duration: Minimum 9 months (post-study route only)
Digital Nomad Visa
Available — the 'Nomad Residence Permit' run by Residency Malta Agency, for third-country nationals working remotely for foreign-registered employers/clients (employed, partner/shareholder, or freelancer categories).
Threshold/salary: €42,000/year gross for applications from 1 April 2024 onward (earlier applicants retain €32,400 threshold)
Duration: 1 year, renewable at Residency Malta's discretion
Study Visas
Student Permit
For enrolment as a main, full-time activity at an MQRIC-recognised higher-education institution; no specific minimum proof-of-funds figure is stated officially, only a general 'sufficient resources' requirement.
Duration: 1 year, or course duration if shorter
Post-Study Job Search Permit
Graduates can apply for a residence permit lasting a minimum of 9 months to seek employment or set up a business — a comparatively generous window, better than Spain/Italy's flat 12-month figure in relative terms and far better than Greece, which has none.
Duration: Minimum 9 months
Researcher/PhD Permit
Hosting agreement scheme under Directive 2016/801; hosting institution must be accredited by the Malta Council for Science and Technology. Family reunification is notably relaxed (no need to demonstrate permanent-residence prospects).
Duration: Minimum 1 year or matching hosting agreement (whichever shorter); at least 2 years under recognised EU/multilateral research programmes
Wages & Earning Potential
- Statutory minimum wage: 229.44 EUR/week (effective 2026-01-01) — source
- Derived hourly estimate (not an official rate): 5.74 EUR/hour (effective 2026-01-01) — source
Top Employers
| Company | Industry |
|---|---|
| Bank of Valletta (BOV) Could not be directly verified live due to a persistent Cloudflare bot-check; very likely genuine but should be spot-checked | Banking / Finance |
| HSBC Bank Malta | Banking / Finance |
| Betsson Group | iGaming / Online Gambling |
| Evolution | iGaming / Live Casino Tech |
| Playtech | iGaming / Gambling Software |
| GO plc | Telecom |
| KM Malta Airlines | Airline / Aviation |
| Malta International Airport | Tourism / Aviation Infrastructure |
| Deloitte Malta | Professional Services / Back-Office |
| RS2 (payments technology) | Fintech / Payments Software |
Second/Extra Job Rules for Existing Permit-Holders
Standard work permit (Single Permit) — conditional
The Single Permit authorizes full-time work with one primary employer only. A second job is allowed but requires a separate employment license from Jobsplus — both primary and secondary employment must be registered.
EU Blue Card — conditional
Malta-specific Blue Card second-job rules not found beyond the general EU-wide framework (employer-change notification in the first 12 months).
Sources & Open Questions
Every figure above is sourced from the official links inline. The items below are things our research could not confirm from an official source as of 2026-09-26 — treat them as open questions, not settled facts.
- immigration-database: Current (2026) EU Blue Card salary threshold shows only a 2024 figure (€34,956) and should be re-verified.
- immigration-database: Malta citizenship-by-naturalisation exact residence-period requirement, language conditions, and fees could not be confirmed from an official Community Malta Agency page — do not publish a specific 'X years to Maltese citizenship' claim without direct verification.
- immigration-database: Key Employee Initiative salary threshold and permit duration not stated on the official page reviewed; only the 5-working-day processing time was confirmed.
- immigration-database: Standard Single Permit fees and maximum processing time not itemised on official pages reviewed.
- immigration-database: Nomad Residence Permit family-member provisions and tax treatment not specified on the official eligibility page.
- immigration-database: Student visa exact proof-of-funds amount not stated on the official EU Immigration Portal page (only qualitative 'sufficient resources' language).
- immigration-database: Non-EU student tuition fee ranges at Maltese public universities (e.g. University of Malta) not verified against an official source.
- wage-database: Exact current DIER-stated minimum wage figures (weekly/hourly) could not be confirmed by directly loading the DIER page (403 error in this research pass); figures are from secondary sources citing DIER.
- wage-database: Exact Jobsplus fee and processing time for a student work permit/secondary employment license (cited as €230 fee, 1-2 weeks by a secondary source only) not independently confirmed.
- wage-database: Official MTCA personal income tax-free threshold and its application to part-time student earnings specifically not verified against an official page.
- wage-database: Whether full-time work during semester academic breaks is explicitly confirmed for students was found only in secondary sources, not verbatim on the official Identità page.
- wage-database: EU Blue Card-specific second-job/self-employment rules for Malta not confirmed (only the Single Permit process was clearly confirmed).
This guide is part of Route Europa's 29-country Schengen database, compiled 2026-09-26. See all countries →
Pay, pensions and visas — compared
Take-home pay: a gross salary of €60,000 leaves about €45,492 a year (€3,791 a month, 75.8% kept) for a single employee in Malta — confidence: high.